Buy & Book Online

Hi, you are logged in as , if you are not , please click here

YMCA Level 2 Certificate in Fitness Instructing - Gym-based Exercise

Academy of Sport

£550.00

Description

LSBU Academy of Sport is proud to offer the YMCA Level 2 Certificate in Fitness Instructing.

There are various dates for this course. You will be asked to choose the course number when you add it to your basket.

All courses are held at LSBU, London Road Building, 100-116 London Road, London SE1 6LN

Please ensure you contact coachingcourses@lsbu.ac.uk to book a place before you pay.

http://www.lsbu.ac.uk/courses/course-finder/ymca-certificate-in-fitness-instructing#course_tab_overview

 

Detailed Description

Overview

This qualification is aimed at those wishing to pursue a career in the health and fitness industry as a fitness instructor in the context of gym-based exercise.
Courses are delivered by our experienced tutors, who are practical and hands-on in their approach. Training will take pace in our Academy of Sport, which has recently undergone £1 million of investment, and you'll have access to a wide-range of fitness equipment.
You'll study the science of the human body, as well the practical techniques and skills required to become a qualified fitness instructor.
YMCA is one of the UK's leading awarding bodies in fitness, health and well-being.

Learners will cover:

  • Anatomy and Physiology including: the heart and circulatory system; the respiratory system; structure and function of the skeleton; musculoskeletal system; postural and core stability; and the nervous and energy systems and their relation to exercise.
  • How to maintain health. safety and welfare in a variety of fitness environments, including the safeguarding of children and vulnerable adults.
  • How to programme safe and effective exercise for a range of clients, the health benefits of physical activity and the importance of healthy eating.
  • How to communicate with clients effectively, and motivate clients to adhere to an exercise prgramme
  • The skills and knowledge required to plan and prepare a gym-based exercise programme with apparently healthy adults - both individuals and groups. 

Course Dates:

Course 1:
Saturday 28 October 10.30am-6.30pm
Sunday 29 October 10.30am-6.30pm
Saturday 4 November 10.30am-6.30pm
Sunday 5 November 10.30am-6.30pm
Saturday 11 November 10.30am-6.30pm
Sunday 12 November 10.30am-6.30pm
Saturday 18 November 10.30am-6.30pm
Sunday 19 November 10.30am-6.30pm
Assessment Saturday 25 November 10.30am-6.30pm
Assessment Sunday 26 November 10.30am-6.30pm
Course 2:
Saturday 6 January                           10.30am-6.30pm
Sunday 7 January 10.30am-6.30pm
Saturday 13 January 10.30am-6.30pm
Sunday 14 January 10.30am-6.30pm
Saturday 20 January 10.30am-6.30pm
Sunday 21 January 10.30am-6.30pm
Saturday 27 January 10.30am-6.30pm
Sunday 28 January 10.30am-6.30pm
Assessment Saturday 3 February 10.30am-6.30pm
Assessment Sunday 4 February 10.30am-6.30pm
Course 3:
Saturday 28 April                               10.30am-6.30pm
Sunday 29 April 10.30am-6.30pm
Saturday 5 May 10.30am-6.30pm
Sunday 6 May 10.30am-6.30pm
Saturday 12 May 10.30am-6.30pm
Sunday 13 May 10.30am-6.30pm
Saturday 19 May 10.30am-6.30pm
Sunday 20 May 10.30am-6.30pm
Assessment Saturday 26 May 10.30am-6.30pm
Assessment Sunday 27 May 10.30am-6.30pm
Course 4:
Monday 4 June 9am-5pm
Tuesday 5 June 9am-5pm
Wednesday 6 June 9am-5pm
Thursday 7 June 9am-5pm
Friday 8 June 9am-5pm
Monday 11 June 9am-5pm
Tuesday 12 June 9am-5pm
Wednesday 13 June 9am-5pm
Assessment Thursday 14 June 9am-5pm
Assessment Friday 15 June 9am-5pm
 

Funding is available for Southwark Residents age 19 plus.

Please ensure you contact coachingcourses@lsbu.ac.uk to book a place before you pay.